Olive

THE PICHOLINE, THE OLIVE OF THE DESTINATION PAYS D'UZES PONT DU GARD

The olive is one of the emblems of the Gard department. The destination Pays d’Uzès Pont du Gard is proud of this small fruit that makes the taste buds of adults and children alike wriggle.

The olive, present on every table

You certainly can’t miss it… Whether whole, with or without stone, in oil, in tapenade, cooked or raw as an accompaniment to a tasty recipe or in a salad, the olive is omnipresent on our tables. How do you like it?

In tasting, at aperitif time, at lunch or dinner, all occasions are good to savour it. We love it!

Picholine can be used in all sauces.

The “picholine” is our star. You’ll recognize it easily: intense green, crispy and with an unmistakable taste. You’ll come across it many times during your stay, both at the tables of bistros and in gourmet restaurants.

Its oil, slightly spicy and fruity, can be enjoyed like a good wine and is the basis of the healthiest of all diets: the Mediterranean diet of course! Its quality has been consecrated by the AOP “olives and olive oil from Nîmes”. We have even dedicated a festival to it with a conference, markets and free entertainment.

The olive, present in our landscapes

You will see with your own eyes, the olive does not only mark our cuisine. It is omnipresent in our territory and our landscapes. All around you, the leaves of the olive trees punctuate nature with silver and green. If you come to visit us during the Indian summer, you will surely witness the fruit picking which takes place in September-October, before it ripens and turns black.

Few trees have as much symbolism as the olive tree. Its fruit is so small and yet it has so many emulators!

The essentials :

Olive

LA PICHOLINE, L’OLIVE DE LA DESTINATION PAYS D’UZES PONT DU GARD

L’olive est un des emblèmes du département du Gard. La destination Pays d’Uzès Pont du Gard est fière de ce petit fruit qui fait frétiller les papilles des grands et des petits.

L’olive, présente sur toutes les tables

Vous ne pourrez certainement pas la rater… Qu’elle soit entière, avec ou sans noyau, en huile, en tapenade, cuite ou crue en accompagnement d’une savoureuse recette ou en salade, l’olive est omniprésente sur nos tables. Et vous, vous l’aimez comment ?

En dégustation, à l’heure de l’apéro, au moment du déjeuner ou du dîner, toutes les occasions sont bonnes pour la savourer. On en raffole !

La picholine se décline à toutes les sauces

La « picholine » est notre star. Vous la reconnaitrez aisément : d’un vert intense, croquante à souhait, avec un gout inégalable. Vous croiserez son chemin à de nombreuses reprises durant votre séjour, autant sur les tables des bistrots que des restaurants gastronomiques.

Son huile, légèrement piquante et fruitée se déguste comme un bon vin et elle est à la base du plus sain de tous les régimes : le régime méditerranéen bien sûr ! Sa qualité a été consacrée par l’AOP « olives et huile d’olives de Nîmes ». Nous lui avons même consacré une fête avec conférence, marchés et animations gratuites.

L’olive, présente dans nos paysages

Vous le verrez de vos propres yeux, l’olive ne marque pas que notre cuisine. Elle est omniprésente dans notre territoire et nos paysages. Tout autour de vous, les feuilles des oliviers ponctuent la nature d’argent et de vert. Si vous passez nous voir durant l’été indien, vous assisterez surement à la cueillette des fruits qui se déroule en septembre-octobre, avant que ceux-ci ne murissent et ne se teintent de noir.

Peu d’arbres ont autant de symbolique que l’olivier. Son fruit est si petit et pourtant, il fait tant d’émules !

Les incontournables :

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter !
FERMER
Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter !