On horseback

STRADDLING THE DESTINATION PAYS D'UZES PONT DU GARD

Put on your bomb and grab the reins because the adventure is waiting for you!
Here, the horse is a serious business, a tradition that has been handed down for generations. Would you like to play the rider for a day? Then set off to discover our paths on the back of a proud steed.

Are you more of a spectator? Horses are also honored in the manades and during the Camargue races.

Horseback riding

Ride along the paths of the Pays d’Uzès Pont du Gard destination to the sound of the familiar “cataclops” of your horse. Confirmed riders or Sunday jockeys, our equestrian centres are there to welcome you and let you benefit from their passion to discover our heritage during a horse ride.

Horse-drawn carriage rides

After hitching up the mounts, sitting quietly on the bench of a horse-drawn carriage, you will be guided through the heart of the countryside. For epicureans and bon vivants, this ride promises great sensations, punctuated by tastings of delicacies and local products.  On the program: walk, picnic, stroll and horseback riding.

Camargue tradition

The horse is also and above all a tradition of the Gard and the Camargue. The national stud farm of Uzès is there to testify to the importance of the horse in the local customs and heritage. Bringing tradition to life has become a commonplace in the Pays d’Uzès Pont du Gard destination where events dedicated to traditional horse-drawn carriages are organised, particularly on the Pont du Gard site. This event is accompanied by a week of discovery around the harnessing, the work on foot of the horses, the leather work and the maintenance of the carriages, but also of tourist and gastronomic discovery.

The essentials :

À cheval

À CHEVAL SUR LA DESTINATION PAYS D’UZES PONT DU GARD

Enfilez votre bombe et empoignez les rênes car l’aventure n’attend plus que vous !

Ici, le cheval c’est une affaire sérieuse, une tradition qu’on se transmet depuis des générations. Vous souhaitez jouer au cavalier d’un jour ? Alors partez à la découverte de nos chemins sur le dos d’un fier destrier.

Vous êtes plutôt du genre spectateur ? Les chevaux sont aussi mis à l’honneur au sein des manades et lors des courses camarguaises.

Monter à cheval

Arpentez les sentiers de la destination Pays d’Uzès Pont du Gard au son des « cataclops » familiers de votre monture. Cavaliers confirmés ou jockeys du dimanche, nos centres équestres sont là pour vous accueillir et vous faire profiter de leur passion afin de découvrir notre patrimoine à l’occasion d’une promenade à cheval.

Balades en calèche

Après attelage des montures, Assis tranquillement sur la banquette d’une calèche, vous vous laisserez guider au cœur de la campagne. Pour les épicuriens et les bons vivants, cette promenade promet de belles sensations, ponctuées de dégustations de gourmandises et de produits locaux.  Au programme : promenade, pique-nique, balade et équithérapie.

Tradition camarguaise

Le cheval est aussi et surtout une tradition gardoise et camarguaise. Le haras national d’Uzès est notamment là pour témoigner de l’importance du cheval dans les coutumes et dans le patrimoine local. Faire vivre la tradition est devenu chose courante en destination Pays d’Uzès Pont du Gard où sont organisées, notamment sur le site du Pont du Gard, des manifestations dédiées aux attelages traditionnels. Cette manifestation s’accompagne d’une semaine de découverte autour de l’attelage, du travail à pied des chevaux, du travail du cuir et de l‘entretien des voitures, mais aussi de découverte touristique et gastronomique.

Les incontournables :

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter !
FERMER
Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter !